Coat and pants

Sewing for others makes me nervous.  But I did make shorts and a crossover top for a friend’s 4 year old’s birthday….and I made another swing coat!

image

This is a simple coat pattern and easy to sew.  It is missing a few things.  There are no grainline markings on the pattern and the collar front and back are the same size (which can cause buckling since the front/top part should be larger than the back/underside part.  Outside of that, there are a small number of pattern pieces to cut and easy way to sew sleeves since you sew them before sewing the side seams.  It’s a pleasant sew.

This second swing coat looks better than my first because there aren’t any mistakes!  Hooray!  It’s good to make the same pattern more than once.  You find out what you’ve learned and can understand garment construction better.

This coat is going up to Chicago to be worn by my niece.  The coat should last two years.  It’s quite roomy to allow for layering.  So I hemmed the sleeves and then folded inward to where they need to be this year and will stitch around the edge.  The sleeve can be easily let out for next year.

imageimage

Another pair of small fry skinny pants was sewn up.  I had cut them back in winter/spring, right after I said I wouldn’t make any more skinny pants because of how long it takes.  They are addictive!  I’m already in the middle of sewing a third pair.  Same thing for these hems as for the coat sleeves.  I hemmed them per instructions and then folded inside the pants to make the hem for my girls length, which will easily be taken out as they grow.

image image

Leave a Reply

