Circle skirts! And two more shorts.

This week I made two pairs of shorts and two circle skirts.

Using Dana Willard‘s circle skirt math and tutorial, I made two circle skirts from two adorable (and kinda grown up) voiles–Wayfarer and Abalone Cove from Palos Verdes collection at Cloud 9.  By the way, her First Day Dress pattern is to be released next week!  Hooray!

Circle skirts

These were super easy to put together.  I’m going to try my narrow hem foot next time.  I also have to make two diaper covers to match.

Wayfarer

Wayfarer

Abalone Cove

Abalone Cove

 

I plan on making some denim colored chambray Clover Shorts to go with some flowy tops in the same Palos Verdes fabric.   I haven’t made the Clover Short pattern yet, so I’ll let you know how it goes. I’m thinking easy peasy peasant tops I don’t need a pattern for.

I also made two more Kids Shorts (size 3 flat front for my 1 year olds).  I made them at the same time which I think was more efficient.

IMG_0124

The fabric is coral with little shiny silver dots.

What I learned in these projects:

  • How to sew a nonstretch woven fabric onto elastic.
  • How to cut a circle skirt the correct way using measurements and math.
  • If you are going to make two of something, do both at the same time.
  • Circle skirts are easy and adorable.

 

 

One thought on “Circle skirts! And two more shorts.

  1. Pingback: KCW day 1 Circle Skirt | Sewing By Doing

Leave a Reply

