Geranium modification (Seersucker Whale top)

I made my first modification off a purchased pattern!  I love the Geranium pattern from Made by Rae.  I’ve made two Geranium dresses so far and know I’m going to make more.  I picked up this seersucker fabric with cute pink whales embroidered on them and visualized a top that had a close but short yoke around shoulders and neck in a solid and the seersucker flowing out from there.  It reminds me of something I would have been dressed in as a baby.

This is how it turned out!–

IMG_0112 IMG_0113

Cute!  I’m happy with it.  It is how I imagined.

So what did I do?

I knew I needed to shorten the bodice part of the Geranium pattern and I didn’t want the bodice fabric to be what made the entire armhole.  So I traced part of the bodice pattern on top of plain paper with the skirt piece lined up where I wanted the yoke to end.

IMG_0116

Next I traced where the arm hole curve would continue onto the skirt/top piece of the pattern.  This was how the bottom of the armhole would be in the whale seersucker, while the yoke would be in a broadcloth solid pink.

IMG_0117

I picked broadcloth because it was closer to the weight of the seersucker.  I didn’t need to transfer the skirt/top pattern to a new paper because it was such a small curve.  I was winging this whole pattern modification anyway.  I used a disappearing ink to retrace that line through the Swedish tracing paper.  Another great reason to transfer your patterns to interfacing or Swedish tracing paper–disappearing ink goes through it to mark the fabric!
IMG_0114These are the button/buttonhole markings transferred from the original pattern.  Once the yoke was put together and sewn to the rest of the top I only needed/had room for one button.

So if you buy the Geranium pattern you will note when Rae tells you to stop when you sew the armholes.  You have to do this without the remainder–where the arrows are:

IMG_0118

This makes more sense if you’ve made a Geranium dress.
IMG_0110Then I sewed 3 separate gathering stitches instead of one all the way around, because you skip over the arm holes!  This made it easier instead of going around the whole skirt/top part.  It also made it easier to match up with the bodice.

IMG_0111

Tada!  It turned out!  The armholes from the skirt/top portion of the pattern I folded over 1/4 inch and edge stitched (top stitching close to the edge), but to do again I would turn over twice 1/4 and edge stitch.  I’ll have an opportunity since I’ve got two babies to clothe.  I plan on making Kid shorts in the pink broadcloth, maybe with cuffs?  Dana Willard’s Kid Shorts pattern is great but doesn’t come with a cuff modification.  Might as well start modifying more patterns!

IMG_0112 IMG_0113

 

Wouldn’t this fabric be adorable as a little feminine blazer or jacket with a peplum?  I think my kids are too little to really wear something like that just yet, but I’m now thinking about developing skills to do a blazer….eek!

I’ve also noticed by coat countdown says 3 months!  Double eek!

 

Leave a Reply

